SYC Singapore 2008 : the miraculous experience!!

Apart from my very very first and the seed of success “the SEALNet PC07”, SYC is another rocking moment, unforgettable time and inspiring experience!!!

Location: Singapore

Date: 07-13 December 2008

Who: 8 Cambodia youths (16-18 years), around 100 youth from 10 ASEAN countries + Kazakhstan, India, China

How: Application through the Youth Office (Around May)

Day 1: Sun-07-12-08 :Arrival at Singapore

Cambodia youth Group and our Singaporean friends

Cambodia youth Group and our Singaporean friends

Singapore town!!

You could take a little trip around Singapore town
In a Singapore city bus
To see Collyer Quay and Raffles Place
The Esplanade and all of us

Chorus:
Because in Singapore, Singapore
Their hearts are big and wide you’ll find
Because in Singapore, Singapore
You’ll find happiness for everyone

Let’s go down to the riverside, it’s an unforgettable sight
To see the sunrise on a faraway isle, turning darkness into light

( Repeat Chorus )

The buildings are climbing all the way to the sky
And there’s a hundred other people who are striving
For people like you and I

( Repeat Chorus )

Day 2: Mon-08-12-08: Team building day!


Yeah us!! GO....Cambodia!!

Yeah us!! GO….Cambodia!!

What a beautiful and wonderful Camp fire i've ever seen!!

What a beautiful and wonderful Camp fire i’ve ever seen!!

Day 3: Tue-09-12-08 : Day of Technology

Visit to NTU-NIE: National Institute of Singapore

SSC: Singapore Science Center

Day 4: Wed 10-12-08 : Day of Discovery

Philippines birthday Celebration for Helen:

NEWater: Discover the Water management of Singapore

On the way to discovery Newater

Journey to discover the NEWater plant

CITY Gallary: Discovery of the development plan of Singapore

Urban Challenge: Discover the Singapore town

Urban Challenge: Group7 at Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles's Statue

Urban Challenge: Group7 at Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles’s Statue

Let's go!! Discover the Singapore town!!

Let’s go!! Discover the Singapore town!!

Day 5:Thur-11-12-08 : Knowledge, Nature and Culture

Picnic at Hort Park : Eating, singing, dancing, walking and having fun with the Nature!!

Picnic at Hort Park : Eating, singing, dancing, walking and having fun with the Nature!!

Country Exhibition:

Here are Each Country’s cultural exhibitions corner:

Day 6: Fri-11-12-08 : An Evening With SYC 2008

An Evening with SYC: Country Performances

Cambodian group in coconut dance clothes + a cambodian visitor in Singapore

Cambodian group in coconut dance clothes + a cambodian visitor in Singapore

all-together Cultural Performance

all-together Cultural Performance

The last night in SInpore!!...oc oh...we have only this night that we are in Singapore....so let's got lost....IT's the 1st time ever in the history that we are not tired and keep getting lost from 12:30am to 3:00am that we can find our hotel (RELC). By the way, who is taking advantage of who?? Smey or Kanhary??? who knows!!

The last night in SInpore!!…oc oh…we have only this night that we are in Singapore….so let’s got lost….IT’s the 1st time ever in the history that we are not tired and keep getting lost from 12:30am to 3:00am that we can find our hotel (RELC). By the way, who is taking advantage of who?? Smey or Kanhary??? who knows!!

Day 7: Sat-13-12-09: Say goodbye day.

Me and lovely mummy Didi!! Thank syc for giving me a wonderful mummy like her. Syc makes our friendship grow greatly from simple classmate to very closed friends!!WE are TOGETHER!! I love SYC!!!

Me and lovely mummy Didi!! Thank syc for giving me a wonderful mummy like her. Syc makes our friendship grow greatly from simple classmate to very closed friends!!WE are TOGETHER!! I love SYC!!!

What I learn from SYC: god…it’s too much to count!!

  • Group Work: It is not as easy as I initially think….It doesn’t mean that the more super genius people we have in group, the better and the faster our work be done….it takes understanding. It’s not only about having a lot of great ideas, but it’s about knowing how to put our ideas together into a single successful project. We have to learn to give out and take in…..NOT all about me….
  • Room sharing: 3 people in 1 room with only 1 key. This is not easy….i saw quite a lot of people get stuck outside the room….
  • Personality: I used to think that being super genius is all kind success….NOT at all…it’s the ability to make people love, respect and trust you. Kanhary and piseth is the one that impress me the most. They are 100% cheerful and easygoing and they are the one who turns the pressure in anything into fun and enjoyment.
  • Singaporean personality: I’m so impressed!! They are so soooooo so active, optimistic and always cheerful. No matter what. No matter how tired they are, they never complain, but always cheer us up. One phrase that I remember my whole life is “ NO problem la” or “NO worry la”…
  • Team building: the activities at OBS (rope jumping, ball passing, ball throwing, Cross the river, lift the anti-gravity circle, singing TOGETHER, dancing TOGETHER especially the unforgettable “Artificial Mount climbing). It doesn’t take only leading and following skills, but also great trust in the others. Honestly, I was quite afraid that I’m can fall down, but I have to trust the others for pulling the rope for me. Oh…also, thanks to everyone in group 7 for encouraging me and everybody else!! Without your word “Go on…you nearly make it, you can do it….go on”….a lot of people may not reached the top. Especially thank to ADREAN encouragement.
  • Development issue: I have to really confess that Singapore is so so genius!! I’m so so wonder how can you success all things together. You have the really modern city, wonderful administrative, incredibly active youth, and amazing reservation of the nature. I open my eyes widely when seeing tree everywhere in the city or I even call forest, in spite the only small amount of land supply. WONDERFUL, AMAZING, GENIUS!!!
  • Language Barrier: Before I always thought that my English is just good enough for the daily communication. Now, realize that I was underestimating this thing. When it comes to real practice of talking to Indian, Philippines, Chinese and Singaporean, I realize that I don’t really catch everything you say…and it takes me about 5 days to get used to the accent. However, I do love the accent, especially the Singlish that I learn from Alie and Adrean and I keep using this accent when coming back to Cambodia for like 2 weeks. Oh…and by the way, thank to everyone for teaching me at least one word of your language. It’s awesome!!!

I miss you all SYC 2008!!

Here’s a song from Laos group:

I still Remember:

—————-
We’re on a journey,
we’re travelling the ocean.
Our hearts are empty,
but they’re open to receive.

(Pre-Chorus)
We’re all here for a similar reason,
and all here for the only notion.
All here for a chance to share our love,
our love ohhh.

(Chorus)
Remember oh remember,
when we have to leave each other.
Remember please remember,
the times we were together.
Even though we’re far apart,
I will keep you in my heart.
I will never forget,
I still remember.

Its only been awhile,
that we all met each other.
But we can all smile,
when we think of the memories we made.

Repeat Pre-Chorus
Repeat Chorus

(bridge)
Everytime when i see the ocean,
I look to the stars and think of you.
Even though we’re far apart,
You’ll always be in my heart….

Repeat Chorus
I will never forget yeaa…
Repeat Chorus

Leave a comment