I think i’m falling in love in it…….

Now….it’s time to take another challenge!!!!! I’ve never known these people….. i just saw the announcement asking for donation at IFL, so i called them if i can join the trip to Svay Rieang with them. Even when they said yes, i was still feeling butterfly in my stomach because I don’t know even one of them, how can i trust them, how can i get along with them? Luckily, my friend, bong sang and Treatra are also going, so at least i have 3 people to talk to if i can’t integrate myself into the alumni of the SSEAYP program.

Phew…..things turn out cool!!!! Far better than my worries……. !!!! It was an awesome community service i’ve done, as we all had a lot of fun, learning about the community and serving it at the same time, especially all of bong bong CPY (Cambodia Participate Youth in SSEAYP program) are very friendly (oh…and especially, bong thisal, is extremely funnnnnny, cheerful, enthusiastic and always make all of us happy all along the trip !!! ) and nice to us, the outsiders. oh…but maybe next year or the year after, I’ll be able to be SIC’s real members too. (ha ha….hope so!!!) Actually, this year we (Treara, sang and me)  applied for SSEAYP too, but 4 of us drop out at the 2nd stage and Me,….i dropped out too at the final stage…..(ha ha…that was so closed)…..but we’ll try again next year for sure!!!! Never give up!! I’ll keep trying my best  until I success in getting to join that loving and warm SIC family!!……

After all, it was a totally exhausting day in packing, separating gifts (books, stories books, pens, pencil, rubbers, story books, new shirts, old clothes, rice….etc), and carrying so many donation to give to the people. However, it’s one of the most memorable day, where I feel I’m not a useless person and I can actually be a good cell of my society.

And I still remember this meaningful speech ever…….

“It was not just a project that we could contribute our help to the community and inspires the children to help, beyond that, the power of sharing in our mind, the understanding we built, and the spirit that we had was even more exciting. We were the people coming from different background Caltex, IFL and SIC, but we then we then worked together so well. Thanks to the rain that made the day the most memorable one.”  -Said “rithisal” (a lovely and funny brother in the SIC)

The smile of the kids, the crazy running around because of the rain, and the sleeping scene of people in the car after working so hard together for our society still remain in my mind….which put the smile on my face…….

oh lalala……I think I’m in love with community volunteerism…….  😛

Charity Trip with SIC

 

Leave a comment